Six Nations Rugby Championship 2024 Guide: Squads, Schedule, & How to Watch

Six Nations Rugby Championship 2024 Guide: Squads, Schedule, & How to Watch

The Six Nations returns in February, featuring top northern hemisphere rugby teams competing for the trophy in pivotal matchups from the opening weekend.

Before the 2024 Six Nations kicks off, we offer insights into the upcoming competition, including team profiles, rugby odds, and betting tips.

What is the Six Nations Championship?

Originating in 1883 as the Home Nations, the Six Nations rugby union competition expanded to six teams in 2000, including England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, France, and Italy.

The tournament spans from early February to early March, with each team playing the others once, totaling 15 games. Points are awarded for wins, draws, tries, and narrow losses.

Teams vie for the Six Nations title, seek the Grand Slam by winning all games, and aim to avoid the metaphorical Wooden Spoon for losing all matches. Wales and England lead with 39 title wins each, with Ireland as the reigning champions after last year’s Grand Slam victory.

Where and when is the 2024 Six Nations being played?

For the first time, France hosts matches in different venues across the nation, offering a unique Six Nations experience. Matches are scheduled in Marseille, Lille, and Lyon, while other nations host games in their usual stadiums.

Full Schedule of  2024 Six Nations

Round 1

France vs. Ireland – Marseille

Italy vs. England – Rome

Wales vs. Scotland – Cardiff

Round 2

Scotland vs. France – Edinburgh

England vs. Wales – London

Ireland vs. Italy – Dublin

Round 3

Ireland vs. Wales – Dublin

Scotland vs. England – Edinburgh

France vs. Italy – Lille

Round 4

Italy vs. Scotland – Rome

England vs. Ireland – London

Wales vs. France – Cardiff

Round 5

Wales vs. Italy – Cardiff

Ireland vs. Scotland – Dublin

France vs. England – Lyon

Previous Winners of the Six Nations

In 2023, Ireland won the Six Nations trophy, securing the Grand Slam by winning all five games, similar to France in 2022.

Since 1883, England holds the most titles with 29, followed closely by Wales with 28. England also leads in Grand Slam titles with 13, followed by Wales with 12.

Since 2000, England, Wales, France, and Ireland have won multiple titles in the Six Nations.

Teams Squad of 2024 Six Nations

Wales wing Louis Rees-Zammit has announced a shock career move as the 22-year-old has been released by Gloucester with immediate effect to bid for a contract in the NFL. The news has shocked many in the sport of rugby - with Wales coach Warren Gatland being forced to delay his squad announcement very briefly.

Gregor Townsend has named his 39-player squad for the Six Nations - which includes four uncapped players.

England coach Steve Borthwick is yet to name his official squad for the Six Nations.

The full squads for the 2024 Six Nations is as follows:


Forwards: Ollie Chessum, Dan Cole, Alex Coles, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Chandler Cunningham-South, Ben Curry, Theo Dan, Alex Dombrandt, Ben Earl, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Joe Heyes, Nick Isiekwe, Maro Itoje, Joe Marler, Beno Obano, Tom Pearson, Ethan Roots, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill.

Backs: Oscar Beard, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Fraser Dingwall, Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, George Ford, Tommy Freeman, George Furbank, Ollie Lawrence, Alex Mitchell, Tom Roebuck, Henry Slade, Fin Smith, Marcus Smith, Ben Spencer, Freddie Steward.


Forwards: Esteban Abadie, Dorian Aldegheri, Gregory Alldritt, Uini Antonio, Cyril Baille, Gaetan Barlot, Paul Boudehent, Francois Cros, Pual Gabrillagues, Matthias Halagahu, Anthony Jelonch, Thomas Laclayat, Julien Marchand, Peato Mauvaka, Emmanuel Meafou, Charles Ollivon, Romain Taofifenua, Sebastien Taofifenua, Reda Wardi, Cameron Woki.

Backs: Louis Bielle-Biarrey, Jonathan Danty, Nicolas Depoortere, Gael Fickou, Emilien Gailleton, Antoine Gibert, Matthieu Jallibert, Melvyn Jaminet, Nolann Le Garrec, Matthis Lebel, Maxime Lucu, Yoram Moefana, Damian Penaud, Thomas Ramos.


Forwards: Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Caelan Doris, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Iain Henderson, Ronan Kelleher, Jeremy Loughman, Joe McCarthy, Peter O'Mahony, Tom O'Toole, Andrew Porter, James Ryan, Dan Sheehan, Tom Steward, Nick Timoney, Josh van der Flier.

Backs: Bundee Aki, Harry Byrne, Craig Casey, Jack Crowley, Ciaran Frawley, Jamison Gibson-Park, Robbie Henshaw, Hugo Keenan, Jordan Larmour, James Lowe, Stuary MCloskey, Conor Murray, Calvin Nash, Garry Ringrose, Jacob Stockdale.


Forwards: Pietro Ceccarelli, Danilo Fischetti, Matteo Nocera, Luca Rizzoli, Mirco Spagnolo, Giousue Zilocchi, Ginamarco Lucchesi, Marco Manfredi, Giacomo Nicotera, Niccolo Cannone, Edoardo Iachizzi, Federico Ruzza, Andrea Zambonin, Lorenzo Cannone, Riccardo Favretto, Alessandro Izekor, Michele Lamaro, Sebastian Negri, Ross Vintcent, Mnuel Zuilani.

Backs: Alessandro Garbisi, Martin Page-Relo, Stephen Varney, Tommaso Allan, Paolo Garbisi, Juan Ignacio Brex, Tommaso Menoncello, Federico Mori, Marco Zanon, Pierre Bruno, Ange Capuozzo, Monty Ioane, Simone Gesi, Lorenzo Pani.


Forwards: Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Jamie Bhatti, Andy Christie, Luke Crosbie, Scott Cummings, Jack Dempsey, Rory Darge, Grant Gilchrist, Richie Gray, Matt Fagerson, Zander Fagerson, Alec Hepburn, Will Hurd, Johnny Matthews, WP Nel, Jamie Ritchie, Pierre Schoeman, Sam Skinner, George Turner, Glen Young.

Backs: Adam Hastings, Ben Healy, George Horne, Darcy Graham, Rory Hutchinson, Huw Jones, Blair Kinghorn, Stafford McDowall, Harry Paterson, Ali Price, Cameron Redpath, Arron Reed, Kyle Rowe, Finn Russell, Kyle Steyn, Sione Tuipulotu, Duhan van der Merwe, Ben White.


Forwards: Corey Domachowski, Kemsley Mathias, Gareth Thomas, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Evan Lloyd, Keiron Assiratti, Leon Brown, Archie Griffin, Adam Beard, Dafydd Jenkins, Will Rowlands, Teddy Williams, Taine Basham, James Botham, Alex Mann, Mackenzie Martin, Tommy Reffell, Aaron Wainwright.

Backs: Gareth Davies, Kieran Hardy, Tomos Williams, Sam Costelow, Cai Evans, Ioan Lloyd, Mason Grady, George North, Joe Roberts, Nick Tompkins, Owen Watkin, Josh Adams, Rio Dyer, Tom Rogers, Cameron Winnett.

How to Watch Six Nations Rugby 2024 ?

To watch all the action of this year's Six Nations in the UK, fans have multiple options available:

BBC and ITV: Both BBC and ITV will broadcast the matches, allowing fans to watch them on television.

BBC iPlayer and ITV Hub: Matches will also be streamed live for free on BBC iPlayer and ITV Hub, providing viewers with the flexibility to watch games online or on mobile devices.

Mail Sport: Mail Sport will offer regular coverage of the Six Nations, ensuring fans can stay updated with all the latest news, match analyses, and highlights.

By utilizing these platforms, rugby enthusiasts can enjoy the excitement of the Six Nations tournament from the comfort of their homes or on the go.

What are the odds for the 2024 Six Nations?

France enters as tournament favorites, aiming to overturn last year's defeat to Ireland. Injured Antoine Dupont's absence places Gregory Alldritt as France's captain, with odds of 5/4 to win the 2024 Six Nations.

Ireland follows closely with odds of 13/8 to win the tournament and 11/10 to claim the Triple Crown.

England stands at 11/2 to win the Six Nations and 12/1 for the Grand Slam.

Scotland, led by captain Jamie Ritchie, holds odds of 12/1 for Six Nations glory.

Wales faces longer odds at 20/1 due to a relatively inexperienced squad, with 50/1 odds for the Grand Slam.

Italy remains the tournament outsider at 200/1 but could surprise following their historic 2022 win, ending a 36-game losing streak in the Six Nations.

Next Post Previous Post